Shopping from North America?

Visit our North American website for our US and Canadian stores, online ordering and product availability.

See what are our customers are saying about our Glasgow (Govan) Store

Unit 2, Moorpark Industrial Estate, Broomloan Road, Govan, G51 2HF

5 Star Rating - 234 reviews

Powered by Listen 360

Listen360

A.K.

April 11, 2024

Amazing customer service and service provided. Got the profile cut exactly as it should be. Definitely will be back if needed. Thank you

William Johnston

April 4, 2024

Items in stock ready to be cut to size. Brilliant

Balazs Kovacs

April 4, 2024

Everything is on site

S.L.

April 4, 2024

For a hobby I like to make different items, often I need metal components and metal supermarket always have what I need without having to buy loads of metal I don’t need. I just turn up give my order and a few minutes later Boom im gone with the goods. Plus the lady at the reception is a good laugh.

S.N.

April 4, 2024

Ease of access, submission of job details and speedy valid quote. Simple and straightforward with on site staff ready to complete the process.

Philip Hallam

April 4, 2024

Efficient friendly service always try to help

Paul Bretheron

April 4, 2024

Very friendly staff , always very helpful, good quality products at a competitive price.

E.M.

April 4, 2024

Excellent service from Glasgow Govan branch and very quick delivery, slightly higher prices though

Archie Hogg

April 4, 2024

Very helpful from the minute I walked through the door, could not be more pleased with the help I received from the young lady at the counter. Yvonne I think her name was, well done

I.D.

April 4, 2024

Good fast friendly service from the govan branch also knew exactly what i wanted.

B.C.

March 15, 2024

Friendly staff who were very helpful

S.D.

March 15, 2024

easy and efiecient service, Thanks

Colin Sloan

March 15, 2024

Great service!

Colin Steele

March 11, 2024

Great selection friendly staff

Angus Allan

March 8, 2024

Excellent customer service. Helpful staff. Metal cut to size. Very pleased.

G.

March 8, 2024

Great bunch of guys very helpful, purchased some metal off them recently and they cut and folded it to my spec as I waited , great service

R.H.

March 10, 2024

Great service and advice.

Materials ordered were cut to size and well packed for delivery.

Allan Derby

March 8, 2024

Good services and Priice.

Allan Derby
RCS Group

Thomas Dickson

March 8, 2024

Very helpful. And very nice, kind people I delt with.

J.C.

March 8, 2024

They have Everything I need. quick, friendly service. Top stuff

Jame Stewart

March 8, 2024

No messing about cut to size ready to collect

Andy

March 8, 2024

Good service, nice people,thanks Andrzej.

A.

March 8, 2024

Great service. Fast cutting great coms.

S.B.

February 16, 2024

Great service from the team at Metal Supermarket in Govan. They were able to quickly complete my order at short notice and offer next day pick up. I received exceptional customer service from everyone at the Glasgow branch.

J.J.

February 14, 2024

Brilliant service and great stock bring me back time and time again.

K.R.

February 8, 2024

Great to deal with ( Govan Branch ) lady on phone & in person was very helpful

J.T.

February 7, 2024

Fast helpful service by people that you can talk to

E.G.

February 7, 2024

Brilliant service for many many years. As a timed served Engineer I was impressed at the stock and services provided.

Robert McLaughlin

February 7, 2024

Very helpful with delivery and returns

Kerry-Anne Smith

February 7, 2024

always look after us – thank you never a job too small or big

george mahoney

February 7, 2024

Very accommodating staff happy to help no matter how small the order.

Keiran Benson

February 7, 2024

Staff were brilliant. And very helpfull

Martin Lally

January 10, 2024

Friendly and professional

H.R.

January 4, 2024

Knowledgable and friendly staff.

Gerry Ryan

January 4, 2024

Great you sell small amounts to general public.
Staff very helpful 👍

Donald

December 16, 2023

Always get what I’m looking for at reasonable price,friendly staff and depot near motorway

Andrew Memmott

December 15, 2023

Friendly and knowledgeable service

Andy

December 8, 2023

Efficiency

P.S.

December 11, 2023

The staff went to the trouble of getting my order special ordered from England, despite it being a small order. I’m also a massive fan of their offcuts section

J.

December 8, 2023

Great service

Derek

December 8, 2023

Great service , very quick to deal with and great costs for materials

Anna Biernacka

December 8, 2023

Great service. I was looking for 3mm aluminium plate. It was cut for me to desired size while I was waiting. Definitely coming back.

G.P.

December 8, 2023

The staff are always happy to help and very knowledgable.

Dominic Shields

November 21, 2023

The staff were very helpful, didn’t have in stock what I was looking for but got it ordered and arrived two days early at a good price.

I would highly recommend your service and will use Metal Supermarket again.

Kind regards
Nicky Shields
Citywide Contracts Ltd

K.C.K.C.

November 15, 2023

Cut to size and quick service at a reasonable price!

Denholm Russell

November 10, 2023

the staff are just very helpful and have time for a laugh with you, which is what life is all about. Very good at explaining the different types of metal and what it can do and i think its very reasnobley priced also.

P.

November 9, 2023

Friendly helpful been dealing with for years now wouldn’t use anyone else

P.P.

November 9, 2023

Very good service 👍👍👍

David Wilson

November 8, 2023

Handy place to get small items for a DIY’er

P.C.

November 8, 2023

prompt friendly and v helpful. wasn’t charged for off cuts which I have experienced elsewhere. great people

Bill Boyd

November 8, 2023

Very helpful and friendly

F.

October 12, 2023

A good service throughout .

Bob Cochrane Cochrane

October 9, 2023

Friendly, helpful and very welcoming to an uninformed punter who didn’t really know what I was looking for. Would shop there again and would highly recommend.

K.B.

October 6, 2023

Great service. Extremely helpful staff. Thank you.

A.W.

October 6, 2023

Great sekection and prices

Naveed

October 5, 2023

Extremely professional and fast service,

W.F.

October 5, 2023

Friendly reception, quick service, helpful staff

A.R.

October 5, 2023

Super quick service. I gave the size I needed over the phone and paid and by the time I got there 20 minutes later it was ready for me. The staff are also very friendly and helpful

D.A.

October 5, 2023

Generally attended to on the spot. A very useful place to know about for small bits and bobs of metal requirements without having to buy a whole sheet or length.

K.B.

October 5, 2023

Prompt service

A.L.

November 8, 2023

Hard to improve as it came down to cost. I just thought it expensive but I got what I needed so I charged customer what you charged me. I couldn’t charge any more. Brass is like gold.
Service and cut on brass was good.
I will use your company again.
[FIRST NAME REMOVED] @ Central Locks.

G.M.

October 5, 2023

Friendly and competitively priced.

Mark

October 5, 2023

I am not a regular customer and usually only need small sizes of material. Always happy to help me find what I need even though it’s not a huge order. Staff very helpful and friendly

Matthew

October 5, 2023

Extremely helpful to everyone at the front counter. Took the time to listen and fully understand the customer requests. Will deffo use again if required.

Ian

October 5, 2023

Staff found product I required and they couldn’t have been more helpful

John

October 5, 2023

Quick, convenient source of brass plate I use for printmaking. Helpful staff.

D.F.

October 5, 2023

Good staff who run a good business couldn’t complain at all

John Reeves

September 19, 2023

Fantastic service from the guy at the Glasgow branch. Super helpful and knowledgable nothing is to much trouble. Always have the metal I need and cut to the size I need. Can’t thank you highly enough.

Kevin Shannon

September 19, 2023

Quick service and helpful staff.

alistair nicol

September 17, 2023

Great service , good value

J.R.

September 13, 2023

That you were quick and efficient

D.R.

September 12, 2023

Good range of stock (especially hard-to-find metals)

M.

September 12, 2023

Excellent service, fast and understanding communication, highly recommended

B.

September 12, 2023

Variety of off-cuts as I only usually need a small piece of steel for a project.

D.M.

September 14, 2023

We only require metal for repairs to some of our plant etc.
To this end your services are what we require as we do not need to buy full lengths and have surplus laying arround,

MacDonald

September 12, 2023

Very good quick service. Well finished material and good price.

A.

September 12, 2023

Very good selection. Very professional advice from the staff.

robert burns

September 12, 2023

Govan Metals delivered exactly what I asked for and on time and were very friendly. They even price matched my order which was exceptional customer service. I’d recommend them to anyone.

Bradley Parker

September 12, 2023

I found stock was decent prices was good for what I bought certainly go back and all staff was very friendly and helpful great stuff 👍 😀

S.M.

September 12, 2023

Everyone’s very helpful and the service is spot on!

Chris Batruch

August 18, 2023

Very quick and professional service.

Fitst class communication and they managed to have my order ready within just a few hours from the initial phone call enquiry, when all other similar companies asked me to wait for minimum week or two.
Highly recommended and certainly will be using them again!

Thanks

A.J.

August 12, 2023

Cut the sheets on time and was ready when they said it would be.

O.M.

August 8, 2023

Friendly staff

S.R.

April 4, 2024

variety. possiblity of buying small quantities.

Sarah Gibkon

August 4, 2023

Very friendly service, open to general public, well stocked.

James Brikmyre

August 3, 2023

Wide range of products and staff extremely helpful

J.

August 3, 2023

My needs are for personal use and not linked to any commercial purpose, therefore all purchased are generally of small quantities.
I like the choice of stock you carry and can generally fulfill my needs from your officut bins.
From my point of view, the main upside of your business are your staff who are always willing to put up with and assist ‘ low volume nuisance drop ins’ like me.

Paul Gallagher

August 3, 2023

Great selection, excellent customer service and value for money. I would definitely recommend.

A.

July 7, 2023

your team was professional and friendly

P.

July 7, 2023

Staff were excellent – I am not a trade customer – Was treated with proper attention and advice even though I was only making a small value purchase.

Peter Banham

June 13, 2023

Handily placed with helpful staff that help you find what you are looking for

Ian Rice

June 13, 2023

The sales team know their stuff are helpful and the delivery was outstanding what’s not to like ten out of ten

Paul White

June 6, 2023

Great service very timly

Keith Fletcher

June 6, 2023

Friendly , professional staff and good value products

S.H.

June 6, 2023

I wasn’t sure exactly what to order, but I was given excellent advice and assistance by phone about what product I needed, and the order was processed quickly and efficiently and arrived sooner than I had expected. Of the two people I spoke with, both were really friendly and helpful.

Ian

May 14, 2023

Helpful and informative staff. Speedy service

W.

February 7, 2024

First class service items ready for collection on time given no problems

D.

May 4, 2023

Excellent service.

C.H.

May 4, 2023

Great selection of material, friendly and helpful staff.

John Kelly

May 4, 2023

Very helpful guys & value for money

K.M.

May 4, 2023

Dealing with Kyle has been a pleasure. Clear concise communication throughout the process with products offered at competitive rates.

. .

May 4, 2023

Very helpful staff, good product.

May 4, 2023

Services was brilliant and my item was perfect great fit

Ian Drain

April 4, 2024

great guys at glasgow govan super helpful

J.C.

March 8, 2024

Gave me what I needed, hassle free, pleasant to deal with. 👍🏼

B.S.

April 13, 2023

Great Service

April 12, 2023

Very helpful. Went out of their way to fulfill my requirement with the lowest cost material that met my needs.

Raymond Nelson

April 12, 2023

Very fast very reasonably priced

John Hills

April 11, 2023

Excellent service as always.

George Bowden

April 11, 2023

ITS AVAILABLE AT A FIR PRICE

Stephen Duffy

April 11, 2023

Staff really helpful

A.W.

April 11, 2023

All staff are very helpful and extremely efficient. Great communication and know what they are talking about. Great service, thank you.

M.

March 8, 2024

all good

March 9, 2023

Friendly, quick, and cheaper than the competitors.

S.

March 9, 2023

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Gavin

March 8, 2024

Fast service and local to me

. .

March 9, 2023

Wide choice of products and excellent friendly helpful service

Tom Ritchie

March 15, 2024

Excellent service and attention from the team in Govan
Always keen to help and to turn the materials around in short timeframe
In all great range and value for money

C.B.

February 15, 2023

I think my order fell foul of an unfortunate set of circumstances however the guys that I dealt with were very helpful, polite and professional. The order was sorted out after resolving any problems and delivered quickly. I would like to think this was an isolated incident and would use them again.

T.E.

February 7, 2023

Staff very helpful in understanding and achieving my requirement.

Helen Kiffle

February 7, 2023

Prompt service at short notice. Very pleasant staff and product costs reasonably priced

A.H.

February 7, 2023

Most of my recent orders have been very small (odds and ends of brass rod, brass sheet and brass bar for clock repairs) nevertheless I always get courteous friendly service and I’m never made to feel that my orders are more trouble than they’re worth

C.H.

February 7, 2023

10/10 great service

L.B.

February 7, 2023

A minor delivery fault was quickly and very professionally sorted by the staff. Will certainly buy again. Happy customer!

William Carmichael

February 7, 2023

Got what I asked for on time

Angela Bell

February 7, 2023

gREAT SERVICE

. .

February 7, 2023

I can buy exactly what I require without having to buy in bulk

D.P.

February 7, 2023

Easy to get quote and then pick up straight away.

A.W.

January 5, 2023

Service is quick and the material is always available

B.P.

January 5, 2023

Most helpfull staff.

S.

January 5, 2023

Price and availability

C.T.

January 5, 2023

Friendly professional service.

January 12, 2023

Pay special attention to delivery requirements.

A.M.

December 8, 2022

When I arrived at the store I explained to the member of staff what dimensions of sheet steel I required, and the steel was cut to size exactly, with the cut edges burred off as well which was a nice unexpected bonus.

Sean

December 2, 2022

Speedy service

Paul Cowie

December 2, 2022

Very easy to deal with and friendly staff

B.D.

December 2, 2022

Cut me what I needed more or less immediately and at very reasonable cost.

R.T.

December 2, 2022

Good service

Charles

December 1, 2022

Excellent service

M.B.

December 1, 2022

James was very helpful

Graham Mckirdy

November 9, 2022

Fantastic service.
My got to place for metal.
Loads of stock and pleasant to deal with.
Thanks you

Cameron

November 3, 2022

Excellent service, the chap on reception was first class, I got just what I needed for my project.
Thank you.

Yannis .

November 3, 2022

just perfect 10 out of 10 product and service

Jack Lewis

November 2, 2022

Good Staff, Good information, Good service & Delivery on time, as agreed.

Gerry Campbell

November 2, 2022

I experienced a problem with my order, but the manager took control and with a bit of gentle persuasion from myself as to how the situation could be managed, we turned a potentially negative experience into a positive one. I would recommend to others.
Gerry

J.

November 2, 2022

Very professional
Very quick service
And reasonable price

[NAME REMOVED] derby

D.M.

November 2, 2022

Staff all very helpful indeed> Thanks

Aly MacKenzie

November 2, 2022

Small quantities with quick turnaround.

Jim Johnston

October 24, 2022

My enquiry was dealt with quickly and efficiently and i was able to place an order next day.

Christina Duncan

October 13, 2022

The service Kyle, scott and james provided was excellent.

Vince Carlton

October 13, 2022

Order made up and ready for collection within the hour

A.H.R.

October 10, 2022

Had what I needed .

T.S.

October 7, 2022

Fantastic selection of metal products and services and very helpful staff at Glasgow unit.

Alex Cowan

October 7, 2022

Excellent counter and phone service. Very knowledgeable staff who showed me a sample of the product I had requested. The product on arrival was what I ordered. No fuss or drama. Prompt delivery by a very pleasant and helpful delivery person. Highly recommended.

Derek Mcaulay

October 6, 2022

One of the few companies left with truly excellent customer service. Even although I don’t buy in great quantities I am treated very well by this company. I was in engineering for over 30 years and can see that the staff know their product which is a rare thing today .
Derek
Caledonian Sgian Dubh

David Morris

February 7, 2023

You always have what I need and your staff are helpful and courteous no matter how small the order.

M.P.

October 6, 2022

Mild steel was affordable for my projects, and staff were helpful

Johnathan

October 6, 2022

Fast, friendly and very helpful

Rob Gillions

October 6, 2022

Great selection, really good prices, but best of all, super service! Thanks, guys!

H.R.

January 4, 2024

Friendly helpful service.

John Cairns

September 23, 2022

Staff were helpful and I was able to get the small pieces of sheet steel I needed

Steve Mccall

September 22, 2022

geat service

M.B.

September 15, 2022

Friendly and helpful

P.

September 15, 2022

Great products Great staff and a Great service

Stewart Napier

September 15, 2022

GREAT SERVICE
LOCAL
FRIENDLY STAFF

K.E.

September 15, 2022

I didn’t like that you charged £2 per hole to be drilled.

Mansha Mohammed

August 13, 2022

Excellent service above all people behind the counter where very helpful full and had the knowledge

August 6, 2022

A very friendly, knowledgeable person at the end of your phone line, superbly efficient delivery.

S.G.S.G.

August 5, 2022

Service over and above.
Told guy what I wanted it for and he advised me what best to go for.

R.W.

July 7, 2022

Fast efficient service

Andy

June 10, 2022

Scott was very helpful, wish there were more guys like this on customer service counters.

A.

June 9, 2022

Friendly staff who couldn’t have done more to help at short notice

Jacek Szczur

June 9, 2022

Good prices and customer service I highly recommend that place for any hobbyist like my or professional traders

B.S.

June 9, 2022

Excellent service

D.M.

June 9, 2022

Good price and friendly staff

B.B.

June 4, 2022

Very prompt, friendly and helpful service

Robert Gray

June 2, 2022

I tend to sweep up off-cuts for my hobby workshop and nothing is too much trouble to end up with the final invoice. This provides a good discount for me although a great deal of measuring for the helpful and cheerful staff. Excellent prices when placing larger orders for GI pipe and fittings, matching better on-line prices to keep our relationship positive. I’m impressed with the service. Krgds Bob Gray

Norrie Mccannon

June 2, 2022

Friendly and helpful staff. Very obliging.

Raymond Watson

June 2, 2022

Good customer service

Craig

June 2, 2022

Online enquiry service and efficient staff. Scott was helpful

Maurice Smith

June 2, 2022

Prompt service and helpful staff

Colin

May 12, 2022

Great service from Scott at the branch
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff members

Alec Morris

May 7, 2022

Excellent service

S.W.

May 6, 2022

Helpful staff.

A.

May 6, 2022

Good range of stock and services.
Accurately cut to any size

J.

May 5, 2022

Cut to size so quicker job and no waste.

D.B.

May 5, 2022

Great bunch of guys would provide good products and services

Slawek

May 5, 2022

Very good and friendly service!

I.W.

May 5, 2022

Friendly service

R.H.

May 5, 2022

Had in stock what was required and able to get sheet cut to size. In and out in 15mins.

Matthew

May 5, 2022

Easy to order and quick pick up hassle free

P.

May 5, 2022

Service was excellent would recommend them

R.M.

May 5, 2022

The service , great guys in the shop

John Goodwin

April 13, 2022

Quick all in stock and good communication

Cheers
GOODWELD MOBILE WELDING

A.

April 12, 2022

Excellent products and service!

Roddy

April 6, 2022

Excellent service,great knowledge was in and out with what I needed in 10 mins.

Alan

April 6, 2022

Great customer service and a fantastic selection of metals.

Myles Cooney

April 6, 2022

1 phone answered by human
2 material supplied good quality and on time

Alex Forest

April 6, 2022

First class service from start to finish. Could not have been more helpful from sales to delivery.
Deserve 5 stars for customer satisfaction. Thank you folks.

J.

April 6, 2022

Helpful and informative and delivered my order quickly.

Alex

April 5, 2022

The products I bought was great, very impressed,and your staff went out there way and beyond to help me in what I was looking for and gave me information on what metal I would need ,as I was making a BBQ,so I was very impressed and pleased, so thank you for this,and I’ll recommend your company to other

J.P.

April 5, 2022

Friendly, helpful staff
Prices ok

Sam McMillan

April 5, 2022

Quick and easy, guys are friendly and knowledgeable about the products, good service good banter.

J.

April 5, 2022

Very good service and a quick delivery very happy with all.

Anna Biernacka

March 9, 2023

We make an order for stainless steel covers. All ordering process was smooth and material delivered next day ready for installation.
Highly recommend

S.H.

April 5, 2022

Small order but was treated amazingly by the staff especially [FIRST NAME REMOVED] who spoke to me like a friend rather than a customer

Alan Johnston

April 5, 2022

I only buy small pieces. I’m sometimes not sure of exactly what would be best but your staff are always happy to help.

D.B.

April 5, 2022

Very friendly and helpful. Got what I needed

M.B.

November 2, 2022

Great service and knowledgeable staff.

What more do you need these days! 👍

S.P.

March 9, 2022

Quick, friendly service. Could have done with confirmation call order was ready for uplift.

P.

March 10, 2022

Very happy with product and speed of delivery. Staff were very helpful.

A.M.

March 9, 2022

Mostly anything you want is in stock and quickly cut to size. Friendly Staff in your Govan Store.

Tom

March 9, 2022

Helpful staff, and easy to inspect the stock

Kenny Niven

March 4, 2022

Nothing for the staff at the Govan store is a problem , professional and accommodating.

Easy to order material thanks to the knowledgeable staff, simple and quick just the way it should be.

R.R.R.

March 2, 2022

Great service and product availability and also that it is open on Saturday recommend to anyone. Very good

D.

March 2, 2022

Great service

H.M.

March 2, 2022

Brilliant service. Provided products quickly and fixed an issue just as quickly. Thank you

Alan

March 2, 2022

I required a piece of sheet stainless steel cut to size of which
was ready in less than 10 mins,great service, Thanks Alan.

J.

March 2, 2022

The service was great and the staff who assisted my purchase in particular was very kind and helpful.

Bryan Walker

March 2, 2022

Excellent, quick and efficient service

Peter Banham

June 13, 2023

Well priced products and helpful staff . I will do business here again

Robert

March 2, 2022

Handy’ local and the cut to size service is great

Norry MacLeod

March 2, 2022

Easy to deal with, collection straight forward and prices better than many of your competitors.

Pat irwin

March 2, 2022

Staff cut mat’s to size quickly great service.

Denis Delworth

March 2, 2022

Very helpful staff.
Fast response to email enquiry, fast response to order being placed and very pleasant guys when I went to collect my order.
Throw in a compliment about my wild tache, it fair made my day. Haha

Michael

March 2, 2022

They delivered a great service from initial phone call to Delivery to site

Stress free

Jim Thomson

February 11, 2022

I can usually order and collect steel in the same day. From small orders to large.The staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

S.

January 5, 2023

Great range of products and very helpful staff.

Gregor

February 11, 2022

Reasonable prices and very knowledgeable staff

Helen Cairns

February 11, 2022

Shaun @ sales very helpful, delivery driver very helpful. First class service

Will

February 7, 2022

Never having been to the Govan depot before, wasnt sure what to expect. It was a fantastic experience and the guy I dealt with couldnt have been more helpful. I had some rather “odd” sizes in 10mm steel plate and square box section, that I wanted to buy and have them cut and it was no bother at all to them. Very friendly, fully appreciated what I was after and even loaded the cuts in to my car for me. I couldnt have been more pleased. They guys I dealt with fully provided great customer service, the metal materials are quality and it was just great all round. Definitely recommend going to the Govan depot if you have any metal requirements.

A.

February 4, 2022

Great service and choice of stock.

J.

February 4, 2022

good prices great service , recommend it to all builders.

Robert Coots

February 4, 2022

Great service, advice and value